Listen Live Graphics (Indy)
PraiseIndy Featured Video

According to the

The Nation’s Capital Sets the Scene For

A New Gospel Music Compilation, DC Gospel Artists United


Washington, D.C. — Washington, D.C. is known as the seat of government for the nation.  It’s also one of the top markets for gospel music.  Now visionary and D.C. area resident Phillip Carter has gathered a group of some of the city’s finest artists to deliver a compilation called DC Gospel Artists United: Together In Unity.  Featuring some of the most talented artists in the genre, DC Gospel Artists United showcases amazingly gifted gospel singers in the DMV.  The double CD is scheduled for release on Tuesday, September 18, 2012 and will be distributed by Central South Distribution.


Stellar Award Winner Phillip Carter was moved to organize artists for the compilation because he felt a need for the gospel community to unify itself.  “In 2011, I received the vision to bring gospel artists together in this area to do a compilation project.  By uniting as one, the country will see that ‘DC is on the Map’.  Not to mention, we are more powerful and can accomplish more if we work together.”


Carter tapped the crème of the crop for the ground-breaking compilation of independent artists.  Artists of the DC collection include: Darnell Moore, Kendall King, Stephen Key, Rob Mercer, Robert Person, Rev. Dr. Emory Andrews & The Oxon Hill High School Choir, Restine Jackson, James “Kelly Fox” Davis, Jimmy Russell, Allyn Johnson and last but certainly not least, Phillip Carter.  The project also features guest performances by Earnest Pugh and Dr. Betty Minus.


Highlighting all types of musical styles on the project including traditional gospel, contemporary gospel, urban and jazz, the diversity of the artists and their music shine through making this CD release a unique one.  Each artist contributed two of their songs to the double CD, a project which Carter considers Volume 1.


Below is a listing of all songs on the DC Gospel Artists United: Together In Unity Project:


1. It Belongs To You – Darnell Moore

2. Lord You’re Worthy -Darnell Moore

3. Wonderful God – Stephen Key

4. Watching Over Me – Stephen Key

5. I Worship You – Kendall King

6. Holy God (Featuring Earnest Pugh) – Kendall King

7. Holy God – Rob Mercer

8. King of Kings – Rob Mercer

9. Someday We’ll All Be Free – Robert Person

10. Gotta Praise – Robert Person

11. I Love The Lord-Phillip Carter

12. Over There-Phillip Carter

13. The Storm Is Passing Over – Rev. Dr. Emory Andrews & The Oxon Hill High School Choir

14. I’m Blessed – Rev. Dr. Emory Andrews & The Oxon Hill High  School Choir

15. Celebrate – Kelly Fox

16. You’re So Amazing – Kelly Fox

17. I’m Free – Restine Jackson

18. Can’t Stop – Restine Jackson

19. I Will Bless The Lord – Jimmy Russell

20. Every Time I Think About – Jimmy Russell

21. Give Thanks-Allyn Johnson

22. Amazing Grace-Allyn Johnson


For more information about the DC Gospel Artists United CD, log on to