IUPUI Head Basketball Coach Ron Hunter has been recognized among 15 finalists for the inaugural Ben Jobe Award to be given by CollegeInsider.com. The award will be presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I college basketball.

Hunter’s Jaguars are currently 24-10 after falling in The Summit League Championship game to Oakland on Tuesday night. The 24 wins are the second-most in the program’s 38-year history.

Hunter is joined by Tommy Amaker (Harvard), Mike Anderson (Missouri), Tevester Anderson (Jackson State), Tony Barbee (UTEP), Todd Bozeman ( Morgan State), Ed Cooley (Fairfield), Mike Davis (UAB), Stan Heath (South Florida), Sydney Johnson (Princeton), Johnny Jones (North Texas), Marvin Menzies (New Mexico State), Shaka Smart (VCU), John Thompson III (Georgetown) and Cliff Warren (Jacksonville).

Listen Live Graphics (Indy)

The award is named for coaching legend Ben Jobe, who spent the majority of his career at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, won 524 games in 31 years. He is best known for his accomplishments at Southern University, where he took the program to four NCAA Tournament appearances and one NIT berth.

A 30-member selection committee will vote this month and the winner of the inaugural Ben Jobe Award will be announced at the Final Four in Indianapolis.

according to fox59.com

Also On AM 1310: The Light: