Listen Live Graphics (Indy)
PraiseIndy Featured Video

What Are Chakras?

Chakras are our energy centers. They are the openings for life energy to flow into and out of our aura (energy field around the body). Their function is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of our self-consciousness. They are associated with our physical, mental and emotional interactions. There are seven major chakras. The aura is often referred to as the eighth chakra. The first chakra (root) actually hangs outside of your body. It is located between your thighs, about halfway between your knees and your physical body. The seven chakra (crown) is located on the top of your head. The remaining chakras, (sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, and third eye), are aligned in sequence along your spine, neck, and skull. Individually, your chakras look similar to funnels with petal-like openings. Chakras are invisible to the human eye, but they can be perceived intuitively by trained energyworkers.

Ancient cultures, including the Japanese, Chinese, Indians, and Egyptians believed that life energy flows through the body, which deeply affects our body, mind and emotions.

Current research strongly suggests that energy does extend throughout and beyond the physical body.

This post is an overview, I will be following up with more detailed posts on each of the energy centers in your body. I look forward to your comments and / or questions.

Sending positive energy – Robin

Related articles:

Spring Cleanse For Your Energy Field, Your Aura

3 Steps To Vibe With Your Spirit

VIDEO: Inhale “Ahhh” To Calm Your Nerves