Listen Live
PraiseIndy Featured Video
Janet Jackson

Source: Getty / Getty

The 2016 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame nominees have been announced.  This year’s nominees include: Janet Jackson,  Chaka Khan, Chic, N.W.A., The Cars, Chicago, Cheap Trick, Deep Purple, The J.B.’s, Los Lobos, Nine Inch Nails, The Smiths, Steve Miller, The Spinners, and Yes.  Artists and bands had to have their first single or album released in 1990 or earlier, in order to be eligible for nomination.

Fans can vote here, up until December 9th,  for who they believe should be inducted this year.  The top five acts to receive the most fan votes will get their spot in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.  800 music industry insiders, artists, and historians will then vote on who will fill the remainder of this year’s inductee class.  Inductees will get announced in December, and the induction ceremony will take place sometime in April.